RSS

Chicken, Bacon and Brussel Sprouts Pie

11 Apr

K for Kenno (and K for K who tweeped her approval of this potential recipe!)

I free-styled this pot pie last night with the ingredients I already had in my fridge and cupboard. The weather has turned from bikinitastic to downright nasty (the thermometer had even dipped its toe into single digits. Rude.) and seasonal brussel sprouts in my fridge were clamouring to be made into a toasty hot pot pie. With some left-over bacon from the weekend, chicken mince in the freezer, and approval from my foodie tweeps online the end result was a match made in pot pie heaven.

Ingredients

4 rashers of short-cut bacon, diced
500g chicken mince
10-15 brussel sprouts, halved
2 celery stalks, diced
1 carrot, diced coarsely
2-3 field mushrooms, diced
1 brown onion, diced
1 cup frozen peas and corn
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp curry powder
2 cups GF chicken stock
2 sheets GF rough puff pastry
1 egg
red wine (for drinking)

Method
Drizzle a little oil in a cooking pot. Fry the chicken and bacon over medium heat until the mince all starts to brown. Add in the turmeric and curry powder and blend through.

Add the diced onion, celery, carrot, mushroom, peas and corn and stir until the vegetables are warmed. Add the chicken stock and allow the mixture to simmer for approximately 5 minutes.

Remove the cooking pot from the heat and divide the mixture into 4 pie ramekins. Cover with a square of pastry and brush the pastry with a beaten egg.

Bake the pies in a pre-heated oven at 200dC for 20-25 mins, or until pastry is golden.

Remove from the oven and let the pie rest for a few minutes before serving.

* I added a generous splash of red wine to the mixture when it was simmering. I think it muted the bacon flavours and I wouldn’t recommend it. Give the generous splash to yourself instead 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Chicken, Bacon and Brussel Sprouts Pie

  1. K

    April 11, 2012 at 11:21 PM

    Awwww. I’m cuffed that you made a K pie! These look excellent!!

     
  2. K

    April 11, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    That would be *chuffed*, not cuffed 🙂

     
    • Alicia

      April 12, 2012 at 8:59 AM

      heh 🙂 I wouldn’t want you to cuff yourself!
      I only pick straight-angled letters for my pie motifs. I’m not crafty enough for the bendy letters.

       

Leave a comment