RSS

OMG! Marry Me Please (Tropical Chicken Curry)

07 Nov


Seriously, this dish will get you married. Wield it wisely.*

This tropical chicken curry is sensational and so so easy. There is a bit of prep involved – allow 30 to 45 minutes to chop and prepare the ingredients (throw on some music and enjoy the process). After some initial cooking, you then throw the ingredients together and give it a mix from time to time. Voila – watch the aroma waft and the room fall in love.

This recipe comes from a gorgeous book that I purchased in Fiji – Unforgettable: a coconut cookbook. The flavours dance like the music and the people of Fiji. Such a great place. And coconut: such a great ingredient. This would make a great dish for a large group dinner party. Prepare everything before your guests arrive, throw it all together and leave to cook. But be prepared, it is so tasty, someone might just ask you to be theirs forever**.

Ingredients
2 chicken breast fillets, cut into strips or cubes
2 tsp lime juice (use the real thing, even if limes are $2.58 each. Yep – time to plant a tree)
1 large brown onion, diced
2 tsp fish sauce
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp red curry paste (I used 2 tsp)
1/2 cup green capsicum, diced
1/2 cup pumpkin, cubed
1/2 cup pineapple, diced
2 chillies, finely chopped
2 tbsp chashew nuts, chopped
1 cup coconut milk
1 tsp ginger, grated
2 tsp lemon grass, finely chopped
4 small garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp coriander, chopped
1 tbsp macadamia nut oil

Method
Chop and prepare all ingredients.

Heat oil in a fry pan and fry chicken until 3/4 cooked.

Add all other ingredients, except coriander.

Cook for 10 minutes, or until all vegetables are cooked.

Sprinkle with coriander. Serve with coconut rice***.

* Results not yet proven.
** Hasn’t happened yet. I’m just sayin.
*** Cook rice in coconut milk instead of water (1 cup rice, 2 cups coconut milk. Add water if necessary). Watch the milk when boiling and simmering and ensure it does not boil over.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2011 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “OMG! Marry Me Please (Tropical Chicken Curry)

  1. kylie

    November 8, 2011 at 1:24 PM

    love it leash might just have to give it a whirl

     
  2. Alicia

    November 8, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    Yes I think you would like this one Smiley, it is really fresh and I know you love cooking with fresh ingredients. I hope it delivers, hehe 😉

     
  3. Suzie

    November 13, 2011 at 9:40 PM

    This is a sensational meal – so flavoursome and colourful. I used palm sugar instead of brown sugar, and also added extra red curry. I took your advice and enjoyed the process of preparing all the fresh ingredients while listening to music (Leonard Cohen, live in concert 2008). Love the coconut rice idea too.
    Dad and I totally enjoyed this meal.
    Thanks heaps Leash.
    Mum xo 🙂

     
    • Alicia

      November 14, 2011 at 8:05 AM

      I’m so glad to hear that! Thank you Mum! I’m glad that you and Dad enjoyed it. I’ve made it a second time with prawns, and I was much faster at preparing all the ingredients the second time. It’s actually quite an easy dish if you have a few herbs and veges, a can of coconut milk in the cupboard and the red paste already in the fridge.
      Thank you for sharing!
      xo

       
  4. Shari

    November 16, 2011 at 7:34 PM

    Alicia you have brought some colour into my life with all your great recipes and food experiences. You have had me druling and laughing at your witty anecdotes. I can not wait to try this dish for the Family while i am in sunny Perth. Thankyou and looking forward to more Delicious food experiences of yours =)

     
    • Alicia

      November 17, 2011 at 6:56 AM

      HI Sharz! It’s so nice to hear from you! And thanks for the feedback on my recipes/blog. It’s so lovely to know that I have family dotted around place reading my crazy recipe stories. Like this one, which I promise that people will want to marry you for (I have a few friends trying it out, maybe to see if they’ll get a proposal 😉 or maybe because I made it sound so darned good). I hope you like it! It was a yummy meal, I love the process of preparing the meal when you have time to listen to music and enjoy a glass of wine at the same time. I hope you get some time out to do that. Amelia looks like such a good little girl (most of the time, I imagine!) and I hope you get lots of time-out when you need. xx See you soon at Christmas perhaps.

       

Leave a Reply

 
