RSS

Lemon and Thyme Roast Chicken

19 Jun

Recently I haven’t paid enough attention to my blogs. The wedding planning fun of perusing flowers, decorations, cars, dresses (yes it IS fun) has satisfied my creative outlet while my blogs have suffered from neglect. So here’s a little update with a new recipe for a delicious and healthy roast chicken dinner.

First a little back-story: While surfing the internet for bridal thingys, I came across an online personal trainer. The online program met all my schemes and dreams for fitness even prior to me receiving The Question and starting to think “wedding fit”. I had been looking for a source of fitness inspiration for quite sometime (see my lifestyle blog) and the online program that I found called Bride Body satisfied all of my wants even pre-engagement. Note there is an obvious target market for this program, but the lessons learned in the program would work for anyone.

In addition to a week’s worth of workouts, Bride Body sends me a weekly list of recipes plus a shopping list for all the ingredients. The meals use fresh whole food ingredients that are mostly GF and DF (I modify when I want to) and because I love to cook this program works well for me. I’m loving being sent new cooking ideas, trying different ingredients and generally having someone do all the thinking for me! I feel well nourished, and after only 3 weeks on the program I fit back into my post-breakup skinny jeans* for the first time in 2.5 years! Awesomeness.

Tonight we had lemon thyme roast chicken from Week 4 of the program… Healthy, refreshing and (to quote fiancé): “another awesome dinner cheech”. Nom nom!

* A story for another day.

Ingredients (I halved these portions because I used 2 small chicken breasts instead of a whole chook)
1 whole chicken
2 lemons, one cut in half, and one half into quarters
Lemon thyme
1 head of garlic, broken into cloves
200g green beans
Frozen peas (I used a head of broccoli instead)
1 bunch asparagus

Method
Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees C.

Place chicken in a roasting pan.

Fill the cavity with lemon quarters and chopped thyme, secure with a toothpick or string (I filled the cavity of the breast).

Squeeze juice of the lemon halves over the chicken, sprinkle with thyme and lightly spray with olive oil spray.

Scatter garlic cloves in the dish around the chicken.

Roast for 1 hr (or 40-45 min if you have small breasts 😉 ). The chicken is cooked if juices run clear when you pierce the breast with a skewer.

Steam the vegetables for 3 minutes.

Serve the chicken with steamed green vegetables.

I only ate half of one breast and save the rest for lunch the next day: shredded chicken breast on cos lettuce leaves with ricotta and an almond salad. Triple NOM!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Lemon and Thyme Roast Chicken

Leave a Reply

 
